Dear Gays

(I know it seems like I am just writing about “gay issues” lately, it’s like I am queer or something, but this one bugs the crap out of me.)

Dear Gay Community,

Lay off Barack Obama, now.

When he was elected the President, he was elected President of the United States, not the President of the Gays of the United States. While I am a gay man, and I do care about my rights, I understand that things like Gay Marriage and Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell are not exactly the most important things to the ENTIRE COUNTRY.

I don’t know if you all have heard, but we are in a major economic recession. Believe it or not, it is something that affects us all, gay, straight, black, white, etc. Maybe it is just me, but I feel that he should probably focus on things that will affect the entire country before he starts focus on small, individual groups. If he started providing benefits to African Americans or Women, or any other minority group, people, especially the Gays, would be up in arms, and it is no difference in this case.

Obama did make progress tonight by saying he will repeal Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell. Anyone who expected it to happen today is an idiot. Things take time, reform takes time. It cannot happen over night. As soon as DADT is repealed, I am sure the Gays will find something else to jump on him for, because no one will ever be happy with the way the country is.

Obama is the country’s President, not just yours, so I suggest you try to go against the stereotype of the vapid, self absorbed gay man, and realize that this Precidency is not all about you, but about what will be best for this country as a whole.

To President Obama, congratulations on your Nobel Peace Prize, and I look forward to the rest of your tenure as President.

No Responses to “Dear Gays”

Leave a Reply

